Skip to content
September 26, 2009 / Infinite Tasks

Top Posts of Infinite Summer

As a way of saying Thank You to all the participants in Infinite Summer – and a way to avoid thinking of this as something that is in the past – I collect here all of my favorite IJ posts from some of my favorite bloggers from the last three months. It’s not meant as a competition, and I’m happy to add more links if there’s any fan-faves that I’ve left out.  Together, they make a great survey of the diversity and intelligence that has coalesced in this awesome, life-changing process we’ve called Infinite Summer.  My tribute to you, my friends!

Gerry Canavan on the M.I.T. Language Riots

Infinite Detox’s Field Guide to Bernini’s St. Theresa

Daryl on Avery Edison, Who Hurt His Feelings

Aaron on the Years of Subsidized Time

Ray Gunn, Your Copyeditor on Grammatical Missteps

Paul on J.O.I.’s Filmography

Journeyman Jeff on Fragments Shored Against My Ruins

Repat Blues on the Maternal Fantods

Naptime on the Delights of a Three-Year-Old *

* Ok, I know this is not specifically an IJ post, but it is sandwiched between IJ Quotes #45 & #46, you just try to read it without laughing.

And although I said this was not a competition, I hope everyone surely agrees that this is the B.P.O.A.T.

Infinite Detox on

Techno-Curmudgeonly Solutions for Life in a Wallacian Dystopia

I thought about picking out the best posts of the IS Guests and Guides, but it became cumbersome.   As we all know, without Avery, Eden, Kevin, and Matthew, and the revealing Guest Interludes from Wallace luminaries, our Summer would have been far drearier.  Thanks to you all.

And finally, the Commenter of the Summer must surely be Itzadrag, whose sincere and thoughtful contributions were a highlight for many of us (and who is responsible for the appelation B.P.O.A.T., above). Itza sent this along to me, and I pass it on to all of you – time of season be damned – with Itza’s endearing coda:

— A valentine to heal those betrayed hearts

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Paul / Sep 26 2009 8:52 am

    Thanks for this. I hadn’t read several of these posts and it was nice to do so. It’ll also be a nice reminder of the Summer of 2009.

  2. Jean / Sep 28 2009 5:33 am

    Sorry so late commenting. I fell behind and finished the book a few days late, so I’m still winding my way through all the posts/blogs.

    I love all your picks above and I totally agree with the B.P.O.A.T. Even though it doesn’t directly reference the book, one of my personal favorite blogs was Detox’s struggle with his “near-slip”, subsequent NO TRAMADOL ever, ever contract, and swearing to same on his copy of IJ. That post brought me to tears.

    Thanks so much to you all for the time and effort taken in order to make IS a much richer experience for the reader.

  3. naptimewriting / Sep 28 2009 8:26 pm

    Thanks for the roundup.
    Gotta tell you, I had to post something light after IJ quote #45 because this time the Gompert passage really really really rocked me to the core.
    Detox’s B.P.O.A.T. is amazing. So glad you posted this highlights episode, because I haven’t been checking out any of the #infsum posts. Now I’m bingeing.

  4. Jeff / Sep 29 2009 6:01 pm

    Thanks so much for this. I don’t know how you kept up with so many of the IS blogs and still produced such a high-quality one of your own. I had to limit myself to two or three, and now I find company I’m honored (no false modesty) to be in.

  5. itzadrag / Sep 30 2009 4:48 pm

    Oh, man… I’m with Jeff. I don’t know how you do it. Thank you and thank you for the top posts. Detox’s techno-solutions still is the B.P.O.A.T., yes? I rarely laugh (out loud), but positively cackle re-reading this! You blow me away.

    I want to send y’all goo-ey chocolates, to consume while reading razor-sharp criticism. Thank you all (you know who you are) for your hospitality, which ranges from mere tolerance to overt mind-fertilizing. How generous. How kind. How expansive, honest, life-changing.

Leave a Reply

